A few of my favourite things

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings…

Yes these are a few of my favourite things too, but the list is much longer and with a lot of fun stuff that a li’l money can buy.

The Bodyshop Liquid EyelinerThe Bodyshop Liquid Eyeliners: By far the best applicators and consistency. Both, the applicator brush/tip and the liquid lasts for a long long time. It dries up pretty quick and the applicator makes it easy to do those funky wing tips. I normally use the brown one. The black is a glossy finish, so that comes out only when I’m doing red lips.

Smudgeproof eye pencils

Smudge-proof Eye Pencils: Maybelline’s Colossal Kajal for black, Rimmel’s Exaggerate Blue and Faces Aqua Blue for a funkier shade. These are the three eye pencils I have used till date that do not smudge even after 8 hours. My eyes tear up a lot, so it’s quite a pain to line my lower lids. These three pencils work like magic and the Rimmel one is my favourite because blue is my black.

Faces Gold Shimmer

Faces Gold Shimmer Powder: I use this as an eyeshadow for a lovely champagne gold kind of colour as well as a lovely highlighter for my cheeks. I pair it with my M.A.C. Peachy Twist blush.

NYX Orange Eyeshadow

 

 

Nyx Golden Orange Eyeshadow: This is my favourite orange blush. Yes you read that correctly. I’m quite the sucker for multi-purpose make-up products. So while this one is strictly an eyeshadow, it was  just the shade of blush-on I was looking for and I’m so glad I tried it on my cheeks. This is my go-to product for those no pink/peach cheeks day.

Nude Lipsticks

My Kind Of Nude Lips: Regular nude shades of lipsticks and lip glosses make me look like a ghost. After quite a search I’ve finally found four shades that work well with my skin colour. Lancome’s La Laque Fever Gloss – Mauve Fiesta, YSL’s Rouge Volupte – Nude Beige, Colorbar’s Perfect Pout – Rumour and Revlon’s Colorburst – Rose Nude.

 

 

My Little Tub of Magic: Amidst all the colour I have one secret weapon – Maybeline Dream MousseMaybelline’s Dream Mousse. It’s supposed to be a foundation, but I use it as a concealer. I’m prone to redness on my cheeks and forehead. This keeps that in check as well as hides any blemishes. I’m not fond of any kind of liquid foundation and the only base I use is MAC’s Studio Fix. The Dream Mousse with Studio Fix is the perfect light base I could have asked for.

3 responses to “A few of my favourite things

  1. Nice! Mine would be
    Chanel Mirifique: the blackest, sparkliest gel ever to come in a pot. My eyes look like the Eiffel Tower at night.
    Guerlain Les Fauves: Because only a warm-toned brown girl knows how important it is to have a “nude/neutral” palette where every colour looks good on dark skins.
    Catrice gel liner: I think it is more overworked and underpaid than even me! Once you go German, you don’t go back.
    Mac Ruby Woo: Every singe red lipstick you own will pale in comparison. For extra drama, top up with Chanel Exces Gloss.
    Mac Girl About Town: Because Fuchsia really does look good on everyone, if they’d only try. Dries down to a berry stain.
    NYX Menage a Trois: Peachy shimmer blush shouldn’t cost the earth. This one doubles up as highlighter, triples up as eyeshadow.
    Mac Pure Orange Corrector and Mac concealer in NC 45: If I’m not going to cover up my monster dark circles, I might as well forget every other piece of makeup too.

  2. Ok here goes….

    MAC Studio Fix NC42…sometimes NC43- For a 2 min face fix, that gives you a clean pallete to work with…. I use a large pwder brush and don’t pack it on, but for Mumbai weather, it works.

    MAC Select Moisture Cover concealer is medium coverage, but great for touch ups half way through the day.

    Chambor Dazzle – Black, Cyan and Grey roll up eyeliners stay put…and the Faces Dark brown is beautifully soft, long stay and great for a brown smokey eye.

    Garnier Primer – Super lightweight and hugs every particle of make up through the day. I also use it on my lids and lip, if I wear eye make up or lipstick.

    Lancome – I like most of them, or the MAC mascaras. I used to like the Maybelline ones, but ever since they’ve changed the formula…. they are kind meh!

    Body Shop Lip and Cheek Tint – My favourite product. Even after layering it doesn’t feel like your wearing a gallon of product.Super light weight and doesn’t dry out your skin.

    Body Shop Shimmer Waves – both Blush and Bronze.

    Mac Ruby Woo and a Chambor Mauve (can’t remember the exact name) – Since I dont wear too much lipstick, I don’t buy too many, but toning down or turning up either of these has worked well in most cases.

    On my Wish List: Stilla Color Me Pretty Lip & Cheek Palette

Leave a Reply

