Three quick reads

Have so many things to write about… I almost forgot I had this blog. I thought I’d start with what I was reading through all those hours of procrastination.

First on the list is a brilliant video where Brian McFerrin plays the audience… yes literally that!

Next is an article about pain, fear, strength and triumph I read on www.npr.org. American Kim Lee posted a picture of her battered face on Weibo (Chinese version of Twitter) and took her Chinese husband Li Yang to court for domestic abuse in China. A landmark case considering Chinese (or rather Asian) culture forbids making private matters public ensuring domestic violence remains a “not to be discussed” subject. To quote Li Yang, “”I hit her sometimes, but I never thought she would make it public since it’s not Chinese tradition to expose family conflicts to outsiders”. On 3rd February she was granted a divorce, custody of their three children, compensation of $8,000 for the abuse and assets of almost $2 million.

http://n.pr/VIEWK9

The third piece I want to share in this post is a piece of History – Eleanor Roosevelt and the Soviet Sniper. And with it it I found a treasure trove of fun articles to read every time I need a break… http://www.smithsonianmag.com. Lyudmila Pavlichenko was a sniper in the Red Army’s 25th Rifle Division and had 309 confirmed kills to her credit. A wonderful piece that subtly highlights life before and after the cold war.

http://bit.ly/Xrrv1z 

Leave a Reply

